Spirit, Mind, Body

Hillsdale Academy develops within its students the intellectual and personal habits and skills upon which responsible, independent, and productive lives are built, in the firm belief that such lives are the basis of a free and just society.

The Academy strives to offer enrichment and to develop character through both curricular and extracurricular offerings, to nurture the child’s humanity—spirit, mind and body—with a constant view to the potential adult. The time-honored liberal arts curriculum and pedagogy direct student achievement toward mastery of the basics, exploration of the arts and sciences, and understanding of the foundational tenets of our Judeo-Christian and Greco-Roman heritage.

The curriculum, by purpose and design, is a survey of the best spiritual, intellectual, and cultural traditions of the West as they have been developed and refined over countless generations.

Our Mission

The mission of Hillsdale Academy is to cultivate students such that they continue growing in virtue and wisdom for the rest of their lives. We do this by providing an academically excellent classical Christian education to K-12 students in Hillsdale, Michigan, and by serving as an exemplar and resource for schools and educators who share our educational goals.

Hillsdale Academy develops within its students the intellectual and personal habits and skills upon which responsible, independent, and productive lives are built, in the firm belief that such lives are the basis of a free and just society. The Academy strives to offer enrichment and to develop character through both curricular and extracurricular offerings, to nurture the child’s humanity—spirit, mind and body—with a constant view to the potential adult. The time-honored liberal arts curriculum and pedagogy direct student achievement toward mastery of the basics, exploration of the arts and sciences, and understanding of the foundational tenets of our Judeo-Christian and Greco-Roman heritage. The curriculum, by purpose and design, is a survey of the best spiritual, intellectual, and cultural traditions of the West as they have been developed and refined over countless generations.

Our Story

In the late 1980s, Hillsdale College began preparations to expand outside of collegiate education and to found an elementary school. This plan was born from a desire to establish a school for community members that stood in line with the college’s beliefs and also to create an exemplary school to serve as “a model for America.” Hillsdale Academy was founded in 1990 and opened on August 27 of that year with 45 students. The Academy started with a program for Kindergarten through 8th grade students and was housed in portable classrooms located where the Hillsdale College soccer fields now stand.

On May 16, 1997, Hillsdale Academy broke ground for the current school building on the south-east corner of the Hillsdale College campus and overlooking Winona Lake. The new building opened in 1998 and was dedicated that fall on October 9th. With the opening of the new school building, Hillsdale Academy expanded to include high school students, starting with 9th and 10th grades in its first year. In 2001, Hillsdale Academy graduated its first 12th grade class.

Since its foundation, Hillsdale Academy has been served by seven headmasters, has grown in enrollment to over 200 students, and has graduated over 300 seniors. In addition to serving local families, the Academy has aided thousands of classical schools and educators through its curriculum reference guides and customized consulting.

Our Impact

Since its founding, Hillsdale Academy has served not only our local families but also schools and educators all around the country who are aligned with our mission. Over the decades the Academy has provided resources to thousands of such schools and educators based on our experience in implementing a classical Christian education. These resources have included consulting calls, on-site visits, curriculum recommendations, teacher training, hosting visits at the Academy, and assistance in starting new schools. As part of Hillsdale College’s K-12 Initiative, the Academy continues to support the classical education movement around the country as Hillsdale College’s flagship classical school.

Hillsdale Academy also works closely with Hillsdale College students to prepare the next generation of classical teachers and administrators. Each semester undergraduate students in the classical education program spend time at the Academy as part of their apprenticeship course. These apprentices spend time in Academy classrooms and shadow our teachers in order to observe and learn from them. Over the years the Academy has sent out hundreds of apprentices who carry what they have seen and learned at Hillsdale Academy into their own classrooms in classical schools all across our country. Each year we also work with graduate students from the Van Andel Graduate School of Statesmanship who have interest in becoming future classical school administrators. As graduate research assistants, these students are apprenticed by Academy administrators and gain valuable experience and insights regarding how to run a school. Thus Hillsdale Academy is having a profound educational impact, both in the lives of our own students locally and also in classical schools all over our country and the world.

Our Team

Administrative Staff

David Diener, Ph.D.

Headmaster

ddiener@hillsdale.edu

Michael Roberts

Assistant Headmaster
Athletic Director

mroberts@hillsdale.edu

Teresa Heckenlively

Administrative Aide

theckenlively@hillsdale.edu

Pam Wonders

Administrative Aide

pwonders@hillsdale.edu

Our Faculty

Ms. Lori Andaloro

Fifth and Sixth Grades

landaloro@hillsdale.edu

Dr. JohnMark Beazley

Latin

jbeazley@hillsdale.edu

Mrs. Jackie Blood

Literature

jblood@hillsdale.edu

Mr. Ross Bonjernoor

Music, Choir, Orchestra, Drama

rbonjernoor@hillsdale.edu

Mrs. Carie Brown

Kindergarten

cbrown1@hillsdale.edu

Mrs. Julie Budd

Eighth Grade

jbudd@hillsdale.edu

Dr. Kenneth Calvert

Ancient History

kcalvert@hillsdale.edu

Dr. Ellen Condict

Literature

econdict@hillsdale.edu

Ms. Deanna Ducher

History, College Counselor

dducher@hillsdale.edu

Mr. Brent Falke

Seventh Grade

bfalke@hillsdale.edu

Mrs. Sara Galloway

Yearbook

sgalloway@hillsdale.edu

Mr. Przemyslaw Grzesiak

Physical Education

pgrzesiak@hillsdale.edu

Mrs. Carin Harner

Third Grade

charner@hillsdale.edu

Mrs. Pamela Heckel

Art

pheckel@hillsdale.edu

Mr. Andrew Holm

Latin

aholm@hillsdale.edu

Mrs. Katherine Huffman

Math, Physical Education

khuffman@hillsdale.edu

Mrs. Rita Jenkins

Swimming

rjenkins@hillsdale.edu

Mrs. Katherine Johnson

Lower School Support

kjohnson@hillsdale.edu

Mrs. Stephanie Maxwell

First Grade

smaxwell@hillsdale.edu

Mrs. Kristie McArthur

Second Grade

kmcarthur1@hillsdale.edu

Mrs. Heather Miller

Lower School Support

hmiller@hillsdale.edu

Mrs. Kimberly Miller

Librarian

kmiller1@hillsdale.edu

Mr. Michael Nikkila

Science, Math

mnikkila@hillsdale.edu

Mrs. Patricia Péwé

Lower School Support

ppewe@hillsdale.edu

Mr. Timothy Polelle

Fourth Grade

tpolelle@hillsdale.edu

Mrs. Christina Pongracic

French

cpongracic@hillsdale.edu

Mrs. Lisa Roberts

Science

lroberts@hillsdale.edu

Mrs. Heather Scharer

Science

hscharer@hillsdale.edu

Mrs. Kathryn Wales

Drama

kwales@hillsdale.edu

Mrs. Sumer Wells

Literature

kwales@hillsdale.edu

Mrs. Kristine Wilkinson

Library Aide

kwilkinson@hillsdale.edu

Career Opportunities

No positions open at this time.

Visit the Academy

See for yourself how Hillsdale Academy can help your child lead a life of virtue and wisdom.

We welcome you to tour our school to learn more about our program, observe a classroom lesson, and meet our faculty and staff.

To schedule a visit, contact the Academy office.

(517) 439-8644
1 Academy Lane, Hillsdale, MI 49242
academy@hillsdale.edu

Download a viewbook

A glimpse into academic life at Hillsdale Academy